All events in

CIFAL Atlanta: Americas Award for Excellence in Public Service 2010

Home » Full Catalogue » CIFAL Atlanta: Americas Award for Excellence in Public Service 2010

CIFAL Atlanta: Americas Award for Excellence in Public Service 2010

The registration is closed.
Atlanta, United States
15 Nov 2010
Duration of event:
1 Days
Programme Area:
Governance, Local Development
Specific Target Audience:
No Fee
Event Focal Point Email:
Event Focal Point Contact Number:
Other Event Details:

For the third year, the Americas Award 2010 pays tribute to public officials from national and local governments which have implemented successful programs and best practices in the eight areas of the United Nations Millennium Development Goals (MDGs). The Americas Award is a joint initiative of the United Nations Institute for Training and Research (UNITAR), CIFAL Atlanta, the Andean Development Corporation (CAF) and the Organization of American States (OAS).

The UN Millennium Development Goals call for:

  1. Eradicate extreme poverty and hunger
  2. Achieve universal primary education
  3. Promote gender equality and empower women
  4. Reduce child mortality
  5. Improve maternal health
  6. Combat HIV/AIDS, malaria and other diseases
  7. Ensure environmental sustainability
  8. Develop a global partnership for development

Based on the areas of action of the United Nations MDGs, the Jury Committee grants eight awards, using the following evaluation criteria: high levels of performance excellence/improvement demonstrated world class innovation, and maintained the highest ethical standards. Using a point evaluation system, each jury assessed the indicators that showed concrete progress towards the achievement of MDGs.  In 2008 and 2009, the Jury Committee, comprised of representatives of the participating organizations, evaluated more than 140 nominations received from 17 countries in the Americas and the Caribbean and selected the eight winners.

In 2010, the Awards will be presented at official ceremony in the City of Atlanta on August 23rd. During the ceremony, there will also be a special award to recognize lifetime achievements of public servants.


  1. To identify best practices and projects that can serve as examples to achieve the MDGs. 
  2. To disseminate best practice among governments in the Western Hemisphere.

Structure: Award Ceremony highlighting best practices and exemplary cases of governance in the Americas

Content:  One award is presented to remarkable government officials who have implemented suscessful projects towards the achievement of the UN MDGs. Additional awards are presented in each area of the MDGs.


Based on the areas of action of the United Nations Millennium Development Goals, the Jury Committee will grant eight awards, using the following evaluation criteria:

  1. achieved high levels of performance excellence/improvement,
  2. demonstrated world class innovation, and
  3. maintained the highest ethical standards

The Americas Award categories are described below:

  1. Poverty Reduction Leadership Award
    • For reducing the poverty rate in a community
  2. Education Leadership Award
    • For improving primary education coverage
  3. Gender Equality Leadership Award
    • For supporting gender policies and budgeting in a tangible way
  4. Public Health Leadership Award: Child Mortality Reduction
    • For public health campaigns to reduce child mortality rates
  5. Public Health Leadership Award: Maternal Health Improvement
    • For public health campaigns to improve maternal health
  6. Public Health Leadership Award: HIV-AIDS Prevention and Reduction Campaigns
    • For public health campaigns to fight and prevent the spread of HIV-AIDS
  7. Environmental Sustainability Leadership Award
    • For preserving the environment and enhancing environmental awareness, in areas such as: landfills/methane projects, public green buildings, emission reduction, alternative energy
  8. Economic Development and Job Creation Leadership Award
    • For developing successful public/private partnerships for economic development and job creation


Application process open to government officials from the Americas.

Targeted audience and conference participants:

  • Local government officals,
  • Business people,
  • and award winners



  1. The “Americas Award 2010” is open to officials from national and local governments from the Americas
  2. National government officials must be representatives of ministries or national departments/agencies.
  3. Local governments must belong to a city with a minimum of 500,000 inhabitants.
  4. Officials who wish to be considered can be nominated by development organizations, other governments or can self-nominate as long as the eligibility criteria are fulfilled.
  5. Government officials can be nominated for any of the eight identified MDG Award categories.


  • Submissions should be made:
    • Electronically (via e-mail only)
    • In English OR Spanish languages
  • Applicants are encouraged to include the following supportive material:
    • Social / economic / health / environmental and other indicators (before and after) that demonstrate the positive impact of the program in a particular area and timeframe
    • Articles and other publications
    • PowerPoint (PPT) presentations
    • Digital standard format videos less than 10 minutes length that evidence activities and the impact of the program
    • Photographs and other relevant graphical material
    • Promotional material


  1. The Jury receives the submissions electronically
  2. Point system valuation assessment
  3. After preliminary review, the Jury takes part in an electronic voting session
  4. The Jury only evaluates and compares projects/best practices that can show measurable outcomes and impact also based on a point system
  5. The Jury then convenes in for discussion, deliberation, and ultimate decision
  6. The Jury selects and announces the winner.


Back to top